Home Breaking News Embattled Speaker presides over House, suspends 6 members

Embattled Speaker presides over House, suspends 6 members

Controversy has continued over the purported impeachment of the Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Abok Ayuba, by 8 members earlier on Thursday morning, as the embattled Speaker presided over a sitting of the assembly held outside the assembly complex.

Thirteen other members present at the sitting passed a vote of confidence on the Speaker.

Also, during the sitting 6 members who participated in what the lawmakers described as “illegal exercise” were suspended.

DAILY POST recalls that 8 members of the 24 legislature, allegedly impeached Hon. Ayuba in the early hours of Thursday, and replaced him with Yakubu Sanda (APC, Pengana Constituency).

At the sitting, Deputy Majority Leader, Philip Dasun, (APC, Pankshin South) moved the motion for the suspension of the six of the eight members that carried out what he described as an illegal impeachment.

Dasun said the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria Section 92, subsection 2C has stipulated a clear procedure on how to impeach a speaker or a deputy speaker.

The Deputy Majority Leader who is also the House Committee Chairman on Information and Communication said, “None of the procedures was followed by the members who allegedly impeached the speaker.

Members did not form a quorum to sit and they did not have a two-thirds majority required by law to impeach a speaker.

They went against Section 92(2c) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Order 7 rule 14 of Standing Orders of the Plateau State House of Assembly”, he explained.

I, therefore, move that the six members that carried out the illegality be suspended till further notice.

They include; Hon. Baba Hassan (APC, Jos North-North), Hon. Saleh Yipmong (APC, Dengi), Hon. Daniel Naanlong (APC, Mikang), Hon. Eric Dakogol (APC, Quanpan North), Hon. Mohammed Ballo (APC, Quanpan South) and Yakubu Sanda (APC, Pengana)”.

Dasun’s motion was seconded by the Minority Leader, Peter Gyendeng, (PDP, Barkin Ladi).

Dasun also moved a motion of vote confidence to be passed on Abok Ayuba as the authentic Speaker of the 9th State House Assembly.

The lawmaker challenged those who claimed to have collected 16 signatures required by law to impeach the speaker to make it public.

The motion was again seconded by Gyendeng affirming lawmakers support for the embattled speaker.

Ayuba while speaking with newsmen after the sitting said they have been standing for the people of Plateau and for the truth.

We will continue to stand for justice, we will stand for the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, we will stand for democracy,” he stressed.

Chinweuba Anyaragbuhttps://cdanewsonline.com
BEST SELLING BLOG THEME OF ALL TIMES. Follow us for more breaking news . Share,, like and Comment on our contents


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Thousands storms at Senator Bassey Akpan’s campaign in Etim Ekpo

Human and vehicular activities were brought to a standstill on Friday in Etim Ekpo, a densely populated community in Akwa Ibom State as the...

Major 10 News Update you need to know this Saturday Morning

Good morning readers Here is today’s summary from Nigerian Newspapers: 1. Oil marketers, on Friday, said the distribution of Premium Motor Spirit, known as petrol,...

Donations of School Items eg books, bags etc to ACPS (1&2) Ikwuano LGA BY Ugochinyere Onyebuchi Foundation (UOF)

Ugochinyere Onyebuchi Foundation in collaboration with FESTAC Guest House Ikwuano LGA Donates School Books, Educational Items ,School Bags to Pupils of Amawom...

Reps committee indicts VCs of UniCal, FUTO, others over audit Report

The Public Account Committee of the House of Representatives has indicted the management of some universities in Nigeria for failing to render audited reports. Some...

Recent Comments