Home Osun 2022 Results, Updates From Governorship Election

Results, Updates From Governorship Election

The stage is set for the residents of Osun State, South West Nigeria, to choose who will pilot their affairs for the next four years.

The people will exercise their rights to pick their next governor through the governorship election which comes up on Saturday, 16 July 2022.

There are 15 candidates who will battle to become the 10th governor of the state since the creation of the state in 1991 and one of them is the incumbent Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola, who is seeking a second term in office.

Though, campaigns for the election have not gone down without cases of violence in different parts of the state, especially the capital, Osogbo.

Reports has it that about 16 cases of violence has been recorded in the state including the assassination of the Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in one of the local government areas.

The 15 candidates include Akinade Akanmu Ogunbiyi, representing the Accord Party; the African Action Congress candidate is Awojide Peter Segun; Kehinde Munirudeen Olumuyiwa A Atanda is bearing the flag of the Action Democratic Party; Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola for the APC; the Allied Peoples Movement presented Awoyemi Oluwatayo Lukuman; Adebayo Adeolu Elisha for the All People’s Party; Adeleke Adesoji Masilo Aderemi Adedapo for the Boot Party; Yussuff Sulaimon Lasun, Labour Party; Rasaq Oyelami Saliu for the New Nigeria Peoples Party; National Rescue Movement has Abede Adetona Samuel as its flagbearer; PDP has Adeleke Ademola Jackson Nurudeen as its flagbearer; Peoples Redemption Party: Ayowole Olubusuyi Adedeji; Social Democratic Party: Omigbodun Oyegoke Akinrinola; Young Progressives Party: Ademola Bayonle Adeseye; and Zenith Labour Party: Adesuyi John Olufemi.

There are five major contenders this year.

They are 1. Adegboyega Oyetola of the APC. He promised that if re-elected, he would reinforce the state security system and empower the police force.

2. Omigbodun Akinrinola Oyegoke of the Socio Democratic Party. He said that his focus would be on reviving trade and investment in the state if elected as the governor.

3. Ademola Adeleke of the PDP. Adeleke has promised to fix the roads, hospitals, agriculture, and bring about other infrastructural developments if he wins.

4. Yusuff Sulaimon Lasun of the Labour Party. Yusuff Lasun says he wants to focus on reforming the education sector for Osun State.

5 . Akin Ogunbiyi of the Accord Party.
Akin Ogunbiyi has promised to bring businesses and investments that would boost the state’s economy and create jobs for the youth.

Chinweuba Anyaragbuhttps://cdanewsonline.com
BEST SELLING BLOG THEME OF ALL TIMES. Follow us for more breaking news . Share,, like and Comment on our contents


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Politics Beyond Partisanship, Should Be Free From Tribal, Religious Affiliations – Peter Obi Celebrates Soludo

Mr Peter Obi of the Labour Party, LP, has maintained that politics should transcend partisanship and be free from tribal and religious affiliations. Report has...

INEC Gives Fresh Update On Adamawa Supplementary Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, assured in Abuja on Saturday that it would conduct a credible supplementary governorship election in Adamawa State that...

Igbos Will Never Again Allow Killings – Iwuanyanwu

A Southeast leader, Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, has condemned the attacks and reported killings of Igbos during the Lagos election. Report indicates that the general elections...

No plans to Impeach Governor Ikpeazu, Abia Assembly members opens up.

The Abia State House of Assembly says there is no plans to impeach the Abia State Governor, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu from office. Addressing the press...

Recent Comments